Freestyle with Carpe Diem

Over at Carpe Diem anything goes today. It’s a freewheeling, freestyling kind of day.

As I’m new to the group, and haiku, I will stick to that form. In time maybe I’ll branch out into tanka, sonnets, renga, tan renga or even free verse. I find haiku difficult enough, and they have but three lines each.

Here in northern California we have been embroiled in a heat wave for the last week with temperatures hovering near 100 F. With no air-conditioning (usually not necessary) it has been a week of scanty clothing and rotating fans. We are in the thick of summer.

So without further ado, here are three of my freestyling haiku in celebration of summer.

click for credit

click for credit

wine grapes
bubbling on the vine
scent of summer

a branch cracks
with the weight of apples
a summer storm

hydrangeas
regal globes of violet
bruised fruit

Thanks for reading!

18 thoughts on “Freestyle with Carpe Diem

  1. I would like to welcome you at Carpe Diem, the palce to be if you like haiku. Here you can read and learn about haiku. These three haiku (plural the same) are for a first attempt really nice. You have touched the Summer in a nice way and every haiku is a little story of it’s own, Thank you for sharing and I hope to see you here again. (By the way: I am your host at Carpe Diem. My name is Kristjaan Panneman and I write under the penname Chèvrefeuille, which means Honeysuckle).

    • Thanks for the second introduction, Kristjaan. This is actually my 3rd or 4th post for your site. I’m enjoying the community and learning to write haiku – and other forms of poetry as well. I enjoyed your tan renga special. I’ll try to post more often so we get to know each other!

Imagine...

