Fire & Brimstone

5fffa8a23ec8ba54451a736538f24c80

My parents once thought

or did they, think about it

I mean

or did they simply do what

their parents had done

 

They sent us, my two sisters

and me

to a Catholic elementary school

peopled with nuns

 

The nuns, all of them

no exceptions

were meaner than that

junkyard dog

 

Years later I learned

of the Magdalene Asylums

run by Catholic nuns

in Ireland

 

For the first time I

considered myself fortunate

to have escaped such a

Fate

 

My nuns weren’t so bad

in comparison

 

I watched a documentary on

Sister Wendy

a British nun who made great art

accessible

 

She was a nun every nun

should emulate

she believes in the kindness

of god

 

Not fire and brimstone

 

I have to believe in god

I was raised Catholic

in the way of ridicule

and guilt

 

If I don’t believe in God

I’ll burn in hell

for the sin of

not believing

 

On a documentary a man prays

for strength

to torture another man

for information

 

A woman attends church

every Sunday

on Monday she spreads

untrue rumors

another woman

loses her job

 

God Bless America

but not all America

only those who

can feed themselves

 

Food stamps take money

from the bottom

line of Form 1040

 

Our children will follow

our lead

as our parents followed their own

 

Thanks for reading!
One thought on “Fire & Brimstone

Imagine...

