Expanded Territory

Written for Imaginary Garden with Real Toads Open Link Monday. I’m new here, but have quickly come to realize the talent present in this fertile Garden.

I attempted to come up with something a bit more seasonal and cheery, but the funny stuff has its own schedule. 🙂  I wish everyone a joyous season, and look forward to getting to know everyone in the New Year.

Cheers!

©Matthew Smith

©Matthew Smith

in the dead of night
I wake
to foxes fighting
I hear their teeth
chattering
like mine do
when I’m cold
and then the high-pitch
like nails on a
chalkboard
scream
it is not a mild
tussle
more a fight with a wounded warrior
tail between the legs loser
and a winner with expanded
territory

you cannot escape your past
tomorrow
though I hadn’t planned to
I will visit
my little sister
I will tell her
my fox story
and we will cling
to each other
for dear life
knowing that our memories
are only that

Thanks for reading!

9 thoughts on “Expanded Territory

    • Thanks, TP. I didn’t mean to imply I carry a lot of sorrow.. I don’t. I’m generally a happy person. I only meant when I write the serious stuff comes up more often than the funny.. but humor definitely makes appearances. Thanks so much for the kind comment.

  1. and we will cling
    to each other
    for dear life
    knowing that our memories
    are only that

    Classic ending steph! One has to be together and rekindle old memories and in so doing create new ones. A concerted effort as intended is a good thing. Wonderful idea!

    Hank

  2. You have taken us from the literal sound of the fox fight to all its metaphoric implications. The emotion expressed is very authentic, and the desire to cling to a loved one during uncertain times, universal.

    You are most welcome in the imaginary garden – we look forward to reading more of your poetry in the mew year.

Imagine...

