To the Untrained Eye

©susanna jarian

©susanna jarian

songbirds, exactly six
sit in the naked apple tree
unmoving
watching, resting

I, at my desk sit 
(though not naked)
I imitate the six songbirds
unmoving
watching, resting

to the untrained eye
nothing much happens

but I know better

I imagine a train hurtling
down the track
destination unknown
any destination will do

so long as I get there
and I do, I always do

in this quiet space
a window to the songbirds
in the bare apple tree
no coffeehouses for me

I travel on a train
or a hot air balloon
or in a convertible
my short hair spiking
in the wind

I reach my destination
the end of my journey
the end of my story
the last sentence
for this single day

For Real Toads.. Kerry asks us to write about our Creative Space…where we like to write…

11 thoughts on “To the Untrained Eye

  1. Yes! My journey is similar…the space that inspires can be simple….oh so simple and beautiful…stillness.

    “I imitate the six songbirds
    unmoving
    watching, resting

    to the untrained eye
    nothing much happens

    but I know better”

    LOVE this.

  2. “to the untrained eye
    nothing much happens”…there’s quite a bit happening in your poem, from songbirds to a day’s journey at the desk ending with the last sentence of the day – a good day in life of a poet.

  3. in this quiet space
    a window to the songbirds
    in the bare apple tree..

    This really resonates for me – I always write beside an open window that looks out on trees and birds and sky.

  4. I think the journey of words is a repeating commute back and forth from outer to inner and back again–staring at things usually is when my train leaves the station, anyway. The initial image here is potent, and the singing of birds fills the poem.

  5. You compress and sing so many wonderful elements of the creative process — the emulation of nature, the leap from still daily surfaces down into imaginative realms, the sense of journey that has so many vehicles and destinations and yet is the same process overall. Loved it.

Imagine...

