Drive-by

1b4c92675b9e86aa93196b74b2f71702

 

 

 

I drove by your house again,
saw your car in the driveway.
I thought
about ringing the bell.
Aren’t you proud of me?
I exhibited that self-control
you’re always touting.
I can do it. I can give you space.
It was tough not to knock, or ring, or shout.
I wanted to see that look
on your face.
That look that says, I’m afraid.
I know what you’re afraid of.
I’d banish that fear if you’d let me.
If only you’d let me
love you.

For Corey at Real Toads… we’re writing about love in all it’s glory and obsession…

14 thoughts on “Drive-by

  1. “I exhibited that self-control
    you’re always touting.”

    I love the tension created by the ambiguity this piece leaves room for. Is he afraid of love or afraid of her? Is she a stalker, or is he a controlling bastard? Very cool.

  2. Thats were the obsessive has been..lol!!!!! This nails that feeling, that overwhelming all consuming feeling, you would give up everything for just a sniff. Thanks so much for writing for this prompt, it is a great piece of writing, I appreciate it!

Imagine...

